Centre Image

Pictured above is the Faculty of Science at Charles Darwin University, formerly the Northern Territory University. The head office of the Tropical Savannas CRC was located here. However, researchers were located right across Australia's savanna regions, see map at right.

To find out about Cooperative Research Centres, and the Tropical Savannas CRC, take our virtual tour by clicking on the navigation bar at left.

Welcome to the Website of the former Tropical Savannas CRC, which stands for the Cooperative Research Centre for Tropical Savannas Management—or Tropical Savannas CRC for short.

Australia's tropical savannas cover almost a quarter of the continent ranging from Townsville on the East Coast across the Gulf, Top End and over to the Kimberley. The CRC carried out research right across this region.

The Tropical Savannas CRC was first established in 1995 by the National CRC Program and renewed in 2001. The Centre closed at the end of 2009.

The CRC's aim was to help ensure that the vast area of the savannas was healthy and managed to provide long-term benefits (economic, aesthetic, social and cultural) to those who use them and to sustain the biodiversity and habitat endemic to them.

You can read about our research, publications, and education programs in the various sections of this site. Go to our Savanna Information section to link to the websites we have developed on fire management, land management, general knowledge and innovative school programs.

Inside this section

In this section you can find information on the Centre's Management Structure: the Board, Consultative Committee, Scientific Program Advisory Group and Management Group. There is also information on the National CRC Program, the review process for CRCs, who our Stakeholders were, and how to find out more on what the Centre did. Just make your selection from the list on the left.


CRC researchers worked right across the shaded region.